Discover our local heroes

These days we are overwhelmed by competitive offers, massive reductions and the war on lowest prices between multinationals. Sanseveria shies away from all this and has chosen to support local entrepreneurs offering local produce and/or high quality products. This resulted into unique collaborations with young and creative people to establish a one of a kind branding image for our bagel restaurants. On our menu there is no sign of big multinationals, nor of any other biased trend. We choose our products carefully, always with an eye on the origin, quality and story behind the product. Supporting local entrepreneurs resulted in an ‘honest high quality kitchen’ experience, steady enterprise, innovative experience and continuity. We would not want to work any other way.

We are merely proud of the quality our surroundings have to offer. We recommend!

Bruges

Discover our recommendations in Bruges.

TOM’S DINER – NXT DOOR

Tom is a full-blooded entrepreneur. With Tom’s Diner he serves an honest kitchen, in which, apart from some pleasantries, you clearly discern the Belgian cuisine. Feel at home amongst the locals. ‘Nxt Door’ is the fancy sis and literally ‘next door’.

The taste of street food over here is a sheer delight!

DE REPUBLIEK

De Republiek is kept dear to the heart by the people of Bruges. After numerous businesses had been run here, it was time for an innovative concept: an honest kitchen, tailored to the wishes of today’s customer and a smashing setting. You’ll certainly bump into some locals of Bruges!

IN THE MOOD

The place to enjoy tasty brasserie dishes. Expect no grandeur or eccentric behaviour, the attraction is in the local flavour. We highly recommend the kitchen!

BISTRO DU PHARE

In this quiet part of town you get to enjoy the delicious bistro kitchen. The location isn’t that obvious, which makes it all the more charming. The bistro has a cosy terrace!

PHARE DE VIE

Put on your walking shoes and let them take you to just outside the Smedenpoort. The restaurant has quite some treats in store. Cosy interior, happy faces and a kitchen strong in quality. We recommend! Attention: closed over the weekend!

QUATRE MAINS

Don’t get us started on Leen & Christophe. Nearby the market in Bruges they run a food sharing concept. We from Sanseveria tend to celebrate our company trips here! We have been fans from the very beginning. Although Leen is pleasantly twisted, you’d rather make a reservation. Might be fully booked weeks in advance!

BRUUT

We give out a medal of honour for fine dining to this fantastic restaurant called Bruut. It ranks amongst the finest culinary addresses and puts quality before quantity. Have what the chef’s suggests. Closed over the weekend.

DON’T MISS OUT!

— A visit to one of the city’s two breweries. De Halve Maan is a fixture and a tourist attraction. Don’t be shy and take a stroll through the Rozenhoedkaai to the modernised brewery Bourgogne De Flandres. We flaunt both rascals!

— A boat trip on the Groene Rei in Bruges! You’ll see countless houses like gems, phenomenal gardens, and you’ll discover the ‘secret spots’ we gladly share with you!

— Eat & buy local chocolate, it will arouse your sense of ‘Belgianness’. Sukerbuyc is our favourite!

— Enjoy a waffle at Oyya’s or Chez Albert’s, probably the best ones!

OSTEND

Discover our recommendations in Ostend.

LA VIE

Fantastic kitchen with superb dishes from different cultures! Their cocktails are absolutely ‘to die for’. You’ll find this business at the ever so cosy Vissersplein!

IL GABBIANO

Shhh!! We shouldn’t be blabbing about this pizzeria. What an experience to lunch or dine here. But make sure to have time. The chef often works on his very own, which requires time and respect. Which is rewarded! MORETTI is the fellow pizzeria in town that cooks gluten free at your request!

OLD INN

This atypical seafood restaurant is situated nearby the Wapenplein. Imagine yourself in the rich history of our renowned city by the sea. The menu is basicly what the gentleman tells you. Mind you, ‘een ploate’ is not the dialect counterpart for ‘plaat’ meaning vinyl record, but for plaice! Make sure to have cash on you!

BISTRO MATHILDA

Jesus, mother! What a restaurant. Ever heard of ‘tatjespap’(‘potato porridge’)? It’s a typical West Flemish delicacy based on mashed potatoes and buttermilk. Reservations are strongly advised!

DON’T MISS OUT!

— Visit the fish market at the Visserskaai! You’ll find a pleasant hustle and bustle there every morning. The sailors’ wives sell their fresh fish straight from the North Sea!

—Missed out on the fish mine? Our favourite alternative is HET VISPALEIS (literally the Palace of Fish), what’s in a name!

—Have a walk through the Royal Galleries and subsequently visit the Thermae Palace. Soak up the rich history of the ‘the queen of the Belgian sea-side resorts’! Mind you: these gems of the Belgian Littoral are currently under renovation!

—Have a walk through the green lung of the city, starting from the Maria Hendrikapark. Make sure not to skip this park called ‘het bosje’ (‘the little woods’) and end at the Baalskaai. A quarter that is rapidly developing and is easily reached by the well-known (free) little ferry boat!

—Find peace in the village of Stene. Have a walk in ‘De Schorre’ and then have a ‘teusje’ (a drink) at Hilde’s De Vlas! (De Vlasschaard)

—Looking for culture? Send us an email. We’ll gladly help you!

Share your love for bagels with #sanseveriabagelsalon

Découvrez les héros locales de Sanseveria

Aujourd’hui, nous sommes inondés d’offres à tout casser et de réductions géantes et la guerre des prix fait rage entre les multinationales. Sanseveria préfère emprunter la voie de l’entreprenariat local. Nous privilégions les collaborations avec de jeunes entrepreneurs créatifs et des valeurs sures qui font l’unicité du paysage urbain. Notre carte ne propose pas de produits issus de multinationales sans non plus verser totalement dans la mouvance bio et écolo. Elle se compose plutôt de produits choisis avec soin, dont la source et la qualité ont été vérifiées, et qui sont vecteurs d’une histoire. Bien sûr, toutes les multinationales ne sont pas forcément synonymes de qualité médiocre ni de relation à sens unique. Sanseveria vise toujours un entreprenariat correct.

Sympathie et appréciation pour les collègues recommandés. Une sélection d’entrepreneurs ‘avec du cœur’, une cuisine de qualité, une cohérence dans la démarche, une expérience unique et une continuité dans l’innovation. On recommande !

Nous sommes simplement fiers de la qualité que nos voisins ont à offrir. On recommande !

Bruges

TOM’S DINER – NXT DOOR

Tom est un entrepreneur pur-sang. Avec Tom’s Diner, il propose une cuisine authentique où on retrouve, à quelques excentricités près, les grandes lignes de la gastronomie belge. Bienvenue chez vous parmi les ‘locals’ ! ‘Nxt Door’ joue sur la fantaisie et est littéralement ‘la porte à côté’. On y déguste une offre ‘streetfood’ tout simplement délicieuse !

De Republiek

De Republiek est cher au cœur des Brugeois. Après plusieurs exploitations, l’établissement fait aujourd'hui place à un concept innovant : une cuisine authentique, adaptée aux attentes actuelles du client, proposée dans un cadre très agréable. Vous y rencontrerez à coup sûr des Brugeois !

IN THE MOOD

Entrez et dégustez une délicieuse cuisine brasserie. N’attendez pas ici de grands tralalas ou quoi que ce soit d’excentrique, le charme est tout ce qu'il y a de plus local. Nous recommandons la cuisine !

BISTRO DU PHARE

Ce quartier tranquille vous propose une savoureuse cuisine bistro. L’emplacement n’est pas évident mais il en est d’autant plus charmant. Le bistro dispose d’une agréable terrasse !

PHARE DE VIE

Enfilez vos chaussures de marche pour vous rendre juste en dehors de la Porte des Forgerons (Smedenpoort). Phare de vie vous réserve de véritables délices. Une décoration cosy, des visages souriants et une cuisine de qualité. On recommande ! Attention : fermé le weekend !

QUATRE MAINS

Ne nous lancez pas à propos de Leen et Christophe. Ils exploitent près du marché de Bruges leur concept de food sharing 'Quatre mains'. Chez Sanseveria, nous y faisons toujours notre fête d’entreprise ! Nous sommes des fans de la première heure. Bien que Leen soit un ‘boute-en-train’, mieux vaut réserver. C’est parfois complet des semaines à l’avance !

BRUUT

Nous décernons la médaille honorifique du raffinement au fantastique restaurant Bruut. Il fait partie du top des adresses gastronomiques et privilégie la qualité à la quantité. Ici, vous mangez selon le choix du chef. Fermé le weekend.

À NE PAS MANQUER !

— Une visite de l’une des deux brasseries de la ville. De Halve Maan est une valeur sure et un lieu hautement touristique. Tentez aussi un crochet via le Rozenhoedkaai pour découvrir la brasserie modernisée Bourgogne des Flandres. Deux enseignes qui font notre fierté !

—Une balade en bateau sur le Groene Rei à Bruges ! Il est bordé de magnifiques maisons, de jardins phénoménaux et vous y découvrez les ‘recoins secrets’ que nous nous faisons une joie de partager avec vous !

—Dégustez et achetez du chocolat local, ça va vous secouer la Belgitude. Sukerbuyc est notre préféré !

—Offrez-vous une gaufre chez Oyya ou Chez Albert, probablement les meilleures !

Ostende

LA VIE

Une cuisine fantastique avec des plats savoureux de différentes cultures ! Leurs cocktails sont véritablement ‘à tomber’. Cet établissement est situé sur l’agréable Vissersplein !

IL GABBIANO

Chhhuttt !! En fait, nous n’avons pas le droit de parler de cette pizzeria. Quelle expérience, que ce soit pour le midi ou le soir. Mais assurez-vous d’avoir le temps. Le chef travaille souvent seul et ça demande du temps et du respect. Mais la patience est récompensée ! MORETTI est une autre pizzeria de la ville qui cuisine sans gluten sur demande !

OLD INN

Ce restaurant de poisson atypique est situé près de la Wapenplein. Ici, on se croirait revenu à l’âge d’or de notre glorieuse cité balnéaire. La carte se résume à ce que le monsieur vient vous expliquer. Attention : ‘een ploate’ n’est pas un disque vinyle ! Veillez à avoir du liquide sur vous !

BISTRO MATHILDA

Doux Jésus ! Quel restaurant. Déjà entendu parler de ‘tatjespap’ ? C’est une préparation typique de Flandre occidentale à base de purée de pomme de terre et de babeurre. À Bistro Mathilda, la réservation est fortement conseillée !

À NE PAS MANQUER !

— Visitez la criée sur le Visserskaai ! Une animation agréable à vivre chaque matin. Les femmes des marins y vendent leur poisson fraîchement pêché dans la Mer du Nord !

— Vous avez manqué la criée ? Notre alternative préférée, c’est HET VISPALEIS. Tout est dit dans le nom !

— Arpentez les Galeries royales puis arrêtez-vous au Thermae Palace. Imprégnez-vous de la riche histoire de la ‘Reine des stations balnéaires !’ Attention : ces bijoux de notre littoral belge sont en pleine rénovation !

— Empruntez le poumon vert de la ville au départ du Maria Hendrikapark. Ne manquez pas ‘le petit bois’ et terminez votre parcours sur le Baalskaai. Un quartier en plein essor que vous pouvez facilement rejoindre via le bac (gratuit) bien connu d’Ostende !

— Cherchez le calme dans le petit village de Stene. Faites une promenade dans le domaine ‘De Schorre’ et allez ensuite ‘boire un coup’ chez Hilde ! (De Vlaschaard)

— Envie d’une escapade culturelle ? Envoyez-nous un mail. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous aider !

Partagez votre amour des bagels avec #sanseveriabagelsalon